top of page

A successful song sparrow field season


My first field season working with song sparrows wrapped up at the end of May. Together with my collaborators Scott Davies and Kendra Sewall, we gathered a lot of great data to examine behavioral and physiological differences between urban and rural populations of song sparrows and to look at plumage coloration. We performed simulated territorial intrusions which were a lot of fun, especially in the urban habitat where the males are so aggressive. I have to say my brief stint nest searching made me really miss the cavity nesting species that I normally work with, you don't have to search for their nests, they just come to you. Now its on to the data analysis and writing.

Small Title

Emily Overby holding one of our banded song sparrows

Small Title

Our second banded song  sparrow of the season.  I somehow missed getting a picture of the first one.

bottom of page